Archive for November 10th, 2015

The Cruz Non-Factor

The AL Cy Young Award winner will be announced soon and Dallas Keuchel is a contender for sure. In 1979, our own Joe Niekro went 21-11 and came in second for the NL Cy Young Award. Who won the NL Cy Young that year.

Here is from today’s Trib:

Now the campaign of (State Rep. Sylvester) Turner, a longtime Democrat, is planning to draw attention to the (U.S. Sen. Ted) Cruz factor as it sharpens his differences with (Bill) King, a Republican-leaning businessman. Turner’s team got its start Sunday with a tweet linking Cruz to King, calling them both “too extreme for Houston.”


Commentary has spent a whole lot of time in a bunch of ‘hoods this season and Ted Cruz isn’t on the minds of voters when you are talking about this election. Folks want to know why their ‘hoods aren’t getting enough love from City Hall.

I am thinking that balance the budget, fix the streets, catch the crooks, and back to basics is pretty darn appealing. So I guess the other guys think they have to inject Cruz control.

Here is the entire Trib piece: http://www.texastribune.org/2015/11/09/houston-mayors-race-cruzs-support-draws-attention/.

So go on ahead and play this card.

In 1979, Bruce Sutter of the Cubbies won the NL Cy Young Award of course.

And this from the ‘Stros website:

The awards keep piling up for the Astros.

Three Astros took home Players Choice Awards on Monday night, with lefty Dallas Keuchel being voted by his peers as American League Outstanding Pitcher, shortstop Carlos Correa winning American League Outstanding Rookie and second baseman Jose Altuve taking the first Majestic Athletic Always Game Award.

The Players Choice Awards, which have been in existence since 1992, are voted on by all Major League players. The players annually honor the top player, rookie, pitcher and comeback player in each league and name a Player of the Year and Man of the Year regardless of league.

Read Full Post »