Archive for September 13th, 2011

White mailboxes only received the dreaded HPOU mailer that attacks H-Town CM Jolanda Jones.  Stuff happens.  Commentary hasn’t received the piece.  I wonder if the CJ Jones Camp will send folks to City Hall today to complain about the mailers and make this afternoon’s meeting last an extra couple of hours.   CM Jones versus HPOU could very well be the story of the 2011 city elections.  This is only going to get uglier and could even take on racial overtones.  That’s not a good thing if you ask me.

Let’s see.  We have a mess over at HISD on contracts and bids.  Ditto for HCC.  We got the mess that CM Jones is in over at City Hall.  Oh, I forgot.  We still got the Port mess and the Chron has a story about it here.  The Harris county Attorney issued their Port report on the mess last week and County Commissioner Jack Morman wants to know if laws were broken.   Here is what the Commissioner says:

"I want some concrete answers.  Saying it may be a violation doesn’t give me the answers that I want."

He has a good point.  Commentary would like to know too. 

Phillies first baseman Ryan Howard who is in town won the NL MVP Award in 2006 and was runner-up in 2008.  Who won the NL MVP Award in 2008 and who was runner-up in 2006?

I caught the highlights as well as the lowlights of last night’s debate and also started to watch the replay.  Of course, Guv Dude doesn’t need my advice but he needs to hit everyone back at the next debate.  He can’t afford to be doing the rope-a-dopes strategy from all sides.

Last night Pam-In-Charge made an appearance on El Grande to thank fans for being loyal this season or something like that because the audio was a little off so I couldn’t hear it all.  The El Grande HDTV was crisp and clear and of course Pam-In-Charge don’t need touching up and that’s for sure.

The Chron listed the ballot order for the city elections.  I really don’t think it matters except for maybe those races with a kazillion candidates like At-Large 2 and District B.  Check out the list/order here.

Here are B and 2:

Council Member, District B

Kenneth Perkins

James Joseph

Kathy Blueford-Daniels

Phillip “Paul” Bryant

Alvin Byrd

Jerry Davis

Charles A. Ingram

Bryan Smart

Council Member, At-Large Position 2

Kristi Thibaut

Elizabeth C. Perez

Andrew C. Burks, Jr.

Gordon R. Goss

Bolivar “Bo” Fraga

Eric B. Dick

Jenifer Rene Pool

Michael “Griff” Griffin

David W. Robinson

Roslyn “Rozzy” Shorter

San Luis first baseman Albert Pujols of course won the 2008 NL MVP Award and of course was runner-up in 2006.

There sure were a lot of Phillies fans at The Yard last night.  A bunch of them were even wearing Hunter Pence’s Numero 3 jersey.  That’s OK as we roughed up Roy O and ended up with a feel good win. 


Read Full Post »